Back on campus

IMG_2331 3
Hopefully campus will look like this in a couple weeks!!

Hello friends and enemies. Lovers and haters. I hope you are all doing well and that school or work is not stressing you out too much. Personally, I’ve been a little stressed lately, during this first week back after spring break. The last few days of the break I stayed at my roommate Becca’s house before we drove back to the hill and got everything ready for the school week. It was tougher than I thought to be to be back, but I am really enjoying my schedule right now, as golf is my new afternoon commitment. When the weather is nice we go out and play, and when it’s windy and rainy we either work out in the gym together or practice indoors with nets or hopefully in the near future, simulators (they seem really cool). It’s nice not having the stress of two afternoon commitments combined with the uninviting winter weather.

This Saturday, a hypnotist came to campus, apparently it’s a yearly tradition that he comes and hypnotizes some seniors while the rest of the school is watching. I personally do not believe in that kind of stuff, but the show he put on was very convincing, to the point where I think everyone started questioning what to believe. He hypnotized upwards twenty students to dance and sing among other things in front of the entire school, and not be able to recall it afterwards.

IMG_4908

First week back from spring break means, the countdown has started. I am trying not to think too much about the fact that my new home here will soon for me become a memory. I am enjoying every day but am also realizing that now is when I should start reflecting back on some of the goals I set for myself at the beginning of the year. Today, I received an email from ASSIST about what to think about during my last couple weeks here which makes the fact that I will be going home even more real. It is a scary thought.

Lately, I’ve been thinking a lot about personalities. It sounds vague, but by chance I came across enneagrams, a form of explanations for different types of personalities I was very interested in a couple years ago. It got me thinking again about core values and specific traits in different people. We are reading about memory loss and amnesia in psych class right now, and what’s left of a persons personality when all their memories from their life is lost. Is what is left, what’s in the genes? I’ve also been painting more lately that usual, I’ve just been in the mood. I also created an Instagram page for my painting progress, so I thought I’d give myself a quick shout out- @jhultinpaints.

Much love,
Jo

Leave a Reply

